Who Is David Bowie?


You can hear “Who Is David Bowie?” being read by legendary comedian Arthur Smith by clicking on the Box widget at the top right of the page.

David Bowie in Labyrinth

David Bowie in Labyrinth

“So who is this David Bowie, then” asked pater one day,
As we communicated via telepathy over a bourbon biscuit.
“He sang songs about spacemen, laughing gnomes and Ziggy Stardust” I explained,
As pater decided that dunking was something bad and didn’t risk it.

“So his contribution is mainly lyrical?” questioned pater,
Over a large herbal tea and some custard creams.
“He also plays saxophone, guitar and keyboards” defended I,
As pater resumed his holy trinity jigsaw and mater mended my trouser seams.

“So this David Bowie has made a worthwhile contribution to society?” determined pater,
As I hurriedly drew a close to my communications with Elvis, the King.
“Certainly pater.  His use of harmonies and wind instruments in modern pop is highly regarded”,
And with that pater called his hired assassin and cancelled the contract stating this such thing.

About hokusbloke
30-something radio producer/director/writer, owner & MD of Ladbroke Productions (the UK's oldest independent radio production company). Lover of far fetched fiction, scifi and fantasy, my cats and all thinks tech. I am also the Chair of the Radio Independents Group, a former Trustee of the Radio Academy, and a Fellow of the RSA. I co-wrote, produced and directed Robert Rankin's "The Brightonomicon" audio series, produce Dr Who audiobooks for the BBC, and directed several sci-fi radio plays for BBC Radio 4 in 2009. I am a strong advocate for more SF audio and radio...keep watching this space for upcoming news!

One Response to Who Is David Bowie?

  1. Nice, as a child my older brother had a bunch of Bowie albums. Soundtracked my life ever since. Check out my posting on http://thespiralscratch.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

