Let’s Speak Lots of Words


“Let’s Speak Lots of Words”

I really feel like it is about time that we
Spoke to one another in words and then see
If doing such will bring us closer together as friends
Or be like literary divers and suffer from word-formed bends.

So let’s start with some simple basic words
One’s that won’t tax us, then move onwards.
I’ll begin with a very basic sentence structure
Here goes…”My bike’s tyre has a puncture”.

Now, for this to be a serious and recognized conversation
You are required to reply to my starting oration.
Give it a go and see what you can string together
But be quick, I won’t wait for you forever!

You’ve asked just how my bike’s tyre got the puncture
A question, basic and true about the past, not the future.
So I’ll say that my bike’s poorly condition
Was caused by a sudden rash case of sedition.

Now you look confused, have my words so perplexed
And caused consternation or maybe you have guessed
That maybe I’m talking a load of old toot
And feel like kicking me hard with your hob-nailed boot.

I’ll confirm my statement with a follow up missive
And tell a tale about a man with a gift to give
Whose shoulders expand to engulf the globe
And ends up living inside his own frontal lobe.

You smile and smirk and back off and I know
I’ve lost the plot now and started to show
Too much of my love of the surreal and the strange
Our conversation’s over, you think I’m deranged!

About hokusbloke
30-something radio producer/director/writer, owner & MD of Ladbroke Productions (the UK's oldest independent radio production company). Lover of far fetched fiction, scifi and fantasy, my cats and all thinks tech. I am also the Chair of the Radio Independents Group, a former Trustee of the Radio Academy, and a Fellow of the RSA. I co-wrote, produced and directed Robert Rankin's "The Brightonomicon" audio series, produce Dr Who audiobooks for the BBC, and directed several sci-fi radio plays for BBC Radio 4 in 2009. I am a strong advocate for more SF audio and radio...keep watching this space for upcoming news!

Leave a Reply

